56 | 95 degrees and humidity at 8:00pm… Who knew?

Hello everyone! Happy ( belated ) Fathers Day to all the amazing fathers, future fathers, and father figures. I’m so grateful for my father and the love he has shown me and the council he has given me. I am especially grateful for our special relationship. One of the greatest things my dad and mom have done for me is that they have turned me to my Heavenly Father and my Savior. Thank you Mom and Dad. I love you so much! Also Kennedy’s birthday is tomorrow! She is turning three. So crazy! Happy Birthday sweet girl. I love you. 

Funny Story: Sister Curran and I were driving down the street trying to find a house we have contacted before and a man was mowing his lawn and he looked Polynesian so Sister Curran looked at him and said, ” cousin?” Haha. So we turned back around and went to go talk to him. Long story short he is not Polynesian and he is gonna be meeting with the Spanish elders soon. HAHA I love being with Sister Curran. Bless her heart she’s gonna be with me for 5 more weeks hopefully more. Pray for her I’m a weirdo. 

This week went by so quickly and was full of tender mercies and I would love to share some of those with you! And it was so hot. So so so hot. We are praying for those missionaries who don’t have cars with A/C. We are very grateful. 

Last week I woke up with terrible lower back pain on my right side. I ignored for a while but then it got to the point where I couldn’t bend forward without being in pain. So I decided to go to the Chiropractor for the first time ( I was freaked out haha ). They took an X-ray of my back and my spine was curved to the left side haha! So they looked at me and said, ” well were gonna have to do some adjustments” After being moved around and hearing some freaky popping noises it felt a little better. They then told me my shoulder bag was not helping my back. After the appointment Sister Curran called our district leader seeing if they had any extra backpacks in their apartment.( she’s the best ) Then our new district leader said, ” woah this is crazy. I felt inspired to bring my old backpack to this area. So there we go! It’s yours. ” Sister Curran and I were like what… that’s crazy. I was so grateful for that tender mercy! 

Sister Willoughby ( a sweet member in our ward ) bought us a pizza for dinner when we didn’t have anyone sign up. She is the sweetest lady. We love her so much! She does so much for the ward and the missionaries. 

Earlier this week we went to teach Ramona a lesson and it was around 5pm. After the lesson Brother Cashman ( Ramona’s son) said, ” I’m gonna make my amazing chocolate chip cookies, would you like to learn how?” Of course we did! We were able to talk with the Cashmans and Ramona and get to know them better. It felt like being at home on a Sunday evening cooking with the family and just having fun. We love the Cashman family so much. They are wonderful members and have become family to Sister Curran and I! 

All week it has been so hot and humid. Sister Curran and I have been walking quite a bit lately. It’s so funny to see all of the reactions we get when we people see us they say, ” what are you doing out in this heat?” ” y’all better get out of this heat” ” ooooohhhh you girls be brave to be out here” we love knocking on doors in this blazing heat for a two of reasons: 1. To feel a little bit of the A/C when they open their door. 2. To preach the gospel to everyone! ( that’s the best reason ) We were talking to a part member family outside and right before we left she said, ” let me give y’all some water bottles cause it’s so hot! ” we were so grateful! We ran out of water earlier that day! Another tender mercy! The Lord watches over us daily! 

Another tender mercy!  After District Meeting the Myers ( they are a sweet couple apart of the office staff ) they offered all the missionaries lunch! They had leftovers from a lunch they did so we had nachos! This was a tender mercy because sister Curran and I made lunch but we were still hungry cause ya know haha. Sometimes chicken and broccoli doesn’t fill us up. We are so grateful to have a wonderful office staff. We love them. They do so much for the mission. 

A member ( Sister Smith ) bought us groceries this week. She has been such a blessing. We are at her home every week for P- day. Thank you to Sister Smith! We love you! 

Miracle Time! 

While taking out the new missionaries Sister Bunker and I found Otiwaay! He is so cool! We decided to go knock on his door cause it was open! ( everyone in Kansas has storm doors… everyone does ) He was so nice. As we introduced the Book of Mormon  and invited him to church he got so excited! We got his contact information and we texted him a couple days ago and he is excited to learn more.

Another miracle that we saw this week was our lesson with Ramona. We taught her the word of wisdom. We had a fantastic lesson. Three members were there and we all talked about the blessings that we receive from living the commandments of God. She is now living the word of wisdom and gaining a testimony of it! We are so happy for her! She couldn’t come to church yesterday because she was sick. We went over after church and had another lesson with her. We felt prompted to go over the Baptismal Interview Questions, Ramona answered yes faithfully to all of them. She has committed to a date and is ready for it! She will be baptized by her son on July 15th. She is so happy and it has been a truly blessing to know her. 

We had a lesson with Herman he is an African refugee from the Congo. We met him a couple weeks ago and finally had a lesson last night with Brother Ouko who is from Kenya and came with us to translate. The Spirit was so strong as we taught the Plan of Salvation. He is praying to know these things are true. We love teaching these people. Herman’s heart has been prepared for the Gospel and it is such a blessing to be with him as the Spirit teaches all of us. 

One of my favorite scriptures is Mosiah 28:3 it says, ” Now they were desirous that salvation should be declared to every creature, for they could not bear that any human soul should perish; yea, even the very thoughts that any soul should endure endless torment did cause them to quake and tremble. ” Sharing the gospel is greatest act we can do here on earth. All of us are Heavenly Father’s children and some are lost. May we all look to those who might be lost and reach out and share the message that Christ lives and loves them. The Gospel has brought so much joy into our lives. Don’t keep it to yourself! Share it! People are looking for it. These past 13 months have been so hard and redeeming. I’m grateful for the purpose I have here to invite others to come unto Christ and that purpose will always be engraved in my heart forever and always. I know this Gospel is true. Jesus Christ is our Savior and Redeemer who loves us so much. We have Heavenly Father who blesses us with commandments that are for our benefit. We are never alone. The Gospel has been restored and we are living in times where the Gospel is in its fullness. What a blessed time to be alive. I have never been happier. I pray and would invite you all to look for the joy the Gospel has brought you and share it with others. You will bless their lives and they will bless your lives in return. I love this Gospel! I’m so excited for this week as Sister Curran and I will declare the gospel to everyone we see. I love you all! Have an incredible week. 

Pictures! 

  1. Took out Sister Bunker on her first day! We met Jade & Taniya 
  2. The Last District Picture of the transfer 
  3. The new sister missionaries 🙂 their first day in Kansas 
  4. Thank you for the shirts mom! Mike & Sully 
  5. We saw Joe when he came for institute! He got the priesthood last week!
  6. We got shaved ice this week! Sorry I was looking at the wrong side… 
  7. District Lunch from a few weeks ago! One of the elders got a bubble gun so we had fun with that 
  8. It has been SO HOT this week. We felt like we were dying. It is to humid for life. 
  9. I love you Dad! This moment is so special to me and I will never forget it! 

Leave a Reply

