Week 34 | What is an ice storm???

Hello! I hope you all had a good week. This week was full of freezing rain, ice storms, trials of faith and miracles. Yes ice storms and freezing rain. These are real in the midwest and its FREEZING. The ice storm we had wasn’t bad as we all thought it was. But the beginning of an ice storm begins with rain and the rain freezes to everything and the whole city becomes an ice skating rink. Pretty fun, not when you slip though. 

This week we had some miracles that I would love to share with y’all! 

 One miracle we experienced this week is we were looking through a list of former investigators and we found Wess! The past missionaries lost contact with him. We decided to knock on his door. He answered and we introduced ourselves and asked him if he had met with missionaries before. He replied yes then we gave him a Book of Mormon and he accepted a return appointment. He is so receptive! That was a great miracle! 

Another miracle we had this week was right now we are teaching a Jehovah’s Witness and she has LOTS of questions. Some of them are hard to answer but as we listen to the Spirit we are able to use the scriptures to answer her questions. The Lord has been with us in all of those lessons. This week she had questions about the Joseph Smith and the priesthood power. As we had a long discussions and bore testimony of prophets you could tell that a light bulb went off in her head and she felt the Spirit. As we ended with our testimonies there was a moment of silence. She replied, ” I’ll have to think about that” She is incredible. We love teaching her. 

We also found a woman named Barbara last week and we contacted her this week 2 days in a row! We had powerful lessons both days and after teaching the message of the restoration she said with light in her eyes, “I believe that.” We are going back this week to teach her and her husband the plan of salvation. They were committed to come to church but then the ice storm hit and church was canceled. So that was a bummer but it’s all good. 

We also met an awesome woman named Janice last week and we felt prompted to knock on her door and she was in a hurry but we gave her a Book of Mormon and she said, “Well, come back and I’ll listen to your message.” AMAZING! So of course we went back and that lesson was so powerful. The Spirit was tangible and she knew it was there. She had lots of questions about the church policies so we answered them the best we knew how and we are so glad the Spirit was there. We are excited to see her this week as well! 

This week I was so tired. I kept falling asleep during my nightly personal prayers and waking up at like 12 AM and I knew I hadn’t prayed for two hours. It was so funny but hard to work at the same time cause I was so drained. So this week it hurts me to say this but I had a lack of urgency for the work. I know I could have done so much better with the Lord and my wonderful companion. 

This week I truly relied on the strength of the Lord and He was with me the whole time. In the strength of the Lord we can do all things that are expedient in Him. I personally experienced that this week and I know that to be true. I can testify to each and everyone of you that Heavenly Father and the Savior love you so much more than any of us will ever realize. The enabling power of the Atonement is real and is for all mankind. Utilize it! Pray to be strengthened and transformed in Christ. I know Christ lives and he is truly my saving grace. This scripture carried me through this week! There are so many promises from the Lord in this scripture.

“36 Yea, and cry unto God for all thy support; yea, let all thy doings be unto the Lord, and whithersoever thou goest let it be in the Lord; yea, let all thy thoughts be directed unto the Lord; yea, let the affections of thy heart be placed upon the Lord forever.

37 Counsel with the Lord in all thy doings, and he will direct thee for good; yea, when thou liest down at night lie down unto the Lord, that he may watch over you in your sleep; and when thou risest in the morning let thy heart be full of thanks unto God; and if ye do these things, ye shall be lifted up at the last.” 

Have the best week everyone. 

We love Zone Conference, Stripes, and Targets necklaces 🙂 

We love the Crawford family 🙂 

Elders Heckel & Monsen. We all miss Topeka! 

Boy do I love my companion 🙂 

We have a tradition that wherever snow or slush is we walk in it 🙂 #frozentoesdon’tmatter

Being a missionary brings the greatest joy we could experience 🙂 

Zone Conference with Wichita, Derby, and Bel Aire Zones 

The cutest little cafe in Maize! If you wanna know how good the scones are just look at my face 🙂 yum! 

blog-for-this-week_-7

Leave a Reply

