Week 33 | Miracles are wrought upon us

Hi Family & Friends! 

I hope and pray y’all had a great week! Sister McArthur and I came home so exhausted every single night this week and it felt amazing to know that we tried our best every day! We could truly feel the Savior’s love and hand in the work! This week had its  ups and downs. Overall it was a good week. We found lots of incredible people to teach and had some powerful lessons. This week the Lord blessed us with eleven new investigators! Which is so exciting. They are all really solid and have been prepared to hear the gospel. 

One of the most powerful lessons we had this week was with Jessica and Jessie they are a married couple with three little boys and a girl on the way. Missionaries had met them back in October and they were super busy but we did not give up on them. We had an appointment Saturday morning. We had prepared a restoration lesson and had prayerfully prepared to teach them. As went in they were so welcoming and we took just a few minutes to know them and then the lesson began. As we used “How to Begin Teaching Points” (Preach My Gospel chapter 10) and followed the Spirit. It was a great lesson. They had lots of questions regarding the priesthood and where its talked about in the Bible. We expressed that we are not perfect teachers and we do not know the answer to every question but we testified of its truthfulness. We told them that we would study their questions and come back this next week. We invited them to study from the Book of Mormon and pray to know of its truthfulness they accepted and we have a return appointment with them in 1 week. 

Another powerful experience we had this week happened as we were prompted to knock on a door. We prayed then we knocked. As the door was opened a very kind woman answered with a little three year old boy peeking out behind her. We said, ” Hello! We are representatives of the Lord Jesus Christ and we share a message of hope and happiness that families can be together forever and we have come to share this with you and your family!” As she smiled she said, ” That is so nice of you. Can you guys come back next week on Wednesday at 3pm?” We said, ” Of course! Could we give something to read in the mean time?” We explained and testified of the Book of Mormon and she accepted it. What a powerful experience. Sister McArthur and I walked away knowing that she and her family had been prepared by the Lord. 

One other experience I would like to share happened yesterday just 5 minutes before our dinner appointment. Sister McArthur and I had made a commitment to the Lord that we would find 1 new investigator before dinner. As we got out of the car we looked at each other and knew we should knock one door. As we looked around us both of us looked straight ahead and began walking. We both knew this was the house the Lord was asking us to knock on. It was 5:57PM and we had dinner in 3 minutes. As we knocked an older woman came to the door and answered we said, ” Hello! We are representatives of Jesus Christ and we share a message that Christ’s church has been restored on the earth today and we wanted to share that with you.” She said, ” Okay, well come on in” We quickly responded with, ” Well is there a better time we could come back?” She said, ” No, come in.” Well we couldn’t turn that down so we went right on in! We got to know her and her name is  Johnny Taylor and she is amazing. She lost her husband back in 2008 and has been living alone ever since. We shared a 5 minutes powerful Plan of Salvation and her eyes began to light up. We gave her a Book of Mormon and accepted to read it. We were so happy! We will be going back this week with fellowship to teach her more. 

Those were just a few of the “up” moments this week! Some of the other moments were the fact that no one was able to come to church. And everyone that we had on date for baptism had fallen off because we have lost contact with them. But we are still committed to the Lord that we will help 2 of our brothers and sisters into the waters of baptism in the month of January. This week we are going to focus on teaching the doctrine of church more and inviting people to be baptized for a specific date. 

Sister McArthur and I cannot wait to come home completely exhausted every night this week. I love my Savior, Jesus Christ and I know He lives. I love the Book of Mormon and know it to be the word of God. Trust in God and never forget how much He loves you. 2 Nephi 4:34-35, “O Lord, I have trusted in thee, and I will trust in thee forever. I will not put my trust in the arm of flesh; for I know that cursed is he that putteth his trust in the arm of flesh. Yea, cursed is he that putteth his trust in man or maketh flesh his arm. Yea, I know that God will give liberally to him that asketh. Yea, my God will give me, if I ask not amiss; therefore I will lift up my voice unto thee; yea, I will cry unto thee, my God, the rock of my righteousness. Behold, my voice shall forever ascend up unto thee, my rock and mine everlasting God. Amen.” I know this scripture to be true. He is truly my rock of righteousness. I love my mission SO MUCH. It is such a divine privilege to serve in the Kansas Wichita Mission.  Have a great week! 

Random ray of sunshine on my face in one of the pictures haha.

Learn more at www.mormon.org.

Click here to read 10 Things to know about Mormon missionaries

Leave a Reply

