Week 30 | Merry CHRISTmas

#LIGHTtheWORLD

Hello all!

What an amazing week with crazy adventures! I’ll share some sweets & sours from this week! By the way, no matter how many layers you wear, this Kansas wind chill goes through your very soul.

Sweets:

  • Had an amazing Zone Conference & Interviews with President & Sister McCuistion
  • Found an amazing investigator named Napoleon Smith & he came to church!
  • Walked in 5 degree weather & snow storm 🙂
  • Had spiritual experiences with members of the ward
  • Went caroling at a retirement center and LOVED it!

Sours:

  • Brandon Loving didn’t come to church
  • Got sick yesterday was down for about 4 hours

There always seems to be more sweets than sours and it’s such a blessing! It was SO cold this week! Haha oh my word. We walked outside, looked at each other and went right back inside because we knew we needed more layers especially because we were walking. We couldn’t bike because there was too much black ice on the ground. The windchill was like -3 haha. So that was definitely something else! I love how both Sister Manu & I are from places where there is warm weather and the Lord put us together in the winter time. It’s so fun.  As we knocked on people’s doors they looked at us like we were crazy because it was SO cold! Some people let us in, others stood out in the cold with us, and others politely shut the door 🙂 it was so fun. Sister Manu and I just kept laughing as we were shaking in the freezing cold wind and rain.

Okay! Let’s talk about Napoleon! On Saturday we had the coolest experience! We were quickly walking into our apartment to get warm & this man comes out of no where and looks us and says, “who are you and what do you do for a living?” (this a dream question for missionaries  ) with a huge smile on our faces and with the Spirit we said, “We are representatives of Jesus Christ and we are here to share the message that Christ’s church has been restored to the earth.”As we looked into his bright eyes we said,” we have a very special Book for you that will change your life and enable you to know your true identity which is a son of God.” This man’s name is Napoleon Smith. On Sunday morning we received a call from him and he wanted to come to church with us! He is amazing! He came to church and loved it! We invited him to focus on how he feels within his heart and you could see he was truly listening to the Spirit. Napoleon is preparing to enter the waters of baptism on January 7th, 2017. We are so blessed to be working with one of our Father in Heavens sons! He is from Rhode Island and is an executive chef! We are so thankful for the Savior to allow us to labor in His vineyard with the Him.

Something that has been on my mind this week is praying to be an answer to someone else’s prayers. I forgot who mentioned it this past week but after they said that it was on my mind for the rest of the week! Sister Manu & I began to pray every morning to be an answer to someone else’s prayers. Whether it be through actions, words, or in different ways! An experience came to my mind as I thought of this. When my family and I were in the process of losing Emerson I was at home with Hayden and Ryder while our parents were at the hospital. I felt so alone and couldn’t imagine how my parents felt. I remember not knowing what to do or who to call. I picked up the phone and started dialing numbers. I was praying that someone who I could cry too would answer. Shortly after dialing a few digits I found I was calling my friend Madison. After the first few rings she picked up and I knew that was an answer to my prayer. I’m so grateful that she picked up the phone and that we were able to talk. Heavenly Father will answer our prayers. Always. I know each and everyone one of you have been an answer to someone’s prayer whether they told you or not. I would invite you to pray for the opportunity to be answer to someone’s prayer today, I would also invite you to reach out to a person that was an answer to a prayer in the past and share your experience with them.

I’m so grateful for our loving Father in Heaven who loves us more than we could ever imagine. He loves us so much he gave us His Only Begotten Son who made an infinite sacrifice for all of mankind. I am so thankful for our Savior, Jesus Christ who gave His life for us. He has set the perfect example for us to follow. May we all remember He is the reason for the season and follow him. As we do, we will experience pure joy. Luke 2:14‘ ” 14 Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace, good will toward men.”

Have a Merry CHRISTmas!

#LIGHTtheWORLD

Leave a Reply

