Week 27 | Happy Thanksgiving, I Think

I hope you all had a good week. This week was an emotional roller coaster…this was rough saying goodbye to Sister Shipley.

My heart has never hurt so much. Topeka is incredible. The Sherwood Ward is full of so many faithful members who are prepared to do missionary work. The people are so prepared to hear  the gospel and I love Topeka with everything I have. My heart is overflowing with gratitude to Heavenly Father and my Savior for allowing me to begin my mission there.

My Third Companion – Sister Manu

Manhattan is good, different but good. It’s a major college town with cute streets and full of people. We can’t proselyte on campus which is heart breaking because we pass so many people but that’s okay! I know as we are obedient to the Lord we will be blessed with miracles according to his will and timing. I’m looking forward to working in this area with Sister Manu. I know the people here are prepared as well and that as Sister Manu and I are exactly obedient we will be able to work diligently together and have fun. Kansas State is huge and such a nice campus. Go wildcats! 🙂 I haven’t gotten the chance to meet to many people in this area this week but we will so I’ll have more of that stuff next week.

We had a mini Zone Conference yesterday in Topeka with President McCuistion and Elder Andersen from the quorum of the seventy. That was an amazing experience. We talked a lot about faith! And our purpose as missionaries. Faith is a strong belief that causes one to act! There are many actions people can take by faith and one of those is repentance which is change! And change leads to baptism which leads to receiving gifts from Heavenly Father and making promises with Him! The Spirit was so strong yesterday and it was a true honor to be there. Later that night we had a devotional where we had the opportunity to hear from people who have been recently baptized. When the  devotional was almost over, the door swung open in the back and Travis Glenn walks in and walks up to the pulpit. He leans over to one of the assiants to the president and says, ” what am I supposed to say?” He then turns to the congregation and says, ” Hello my name is Travis Glenn I was baptized on the 29th of October and words cannot describe how I feel. I know this church is true. In the name of Jesus Christ Amen” Before I knew it I found myself in tears. I love Travis so much. It was such a tender mercy to hear his simple, profound testimony of this gospel.

One of my favorite chapters in the Book of Mormon is Mosiah chapter 4. This chapter is about a King that address his people before he passes away and allows his son, Mosiah to rule over the people. The King’s name is King Benjamin and he loves the gospel and has such a powerful testimony and loves his people. One of my favorite verses is verse 2 and it says, “And they had viewed themselves in their own carnal state, even less than the dust of the earth. And they all cried aloud with one voice, saying: O have mercy, and apply the atoning blood of Christ that we may receive forgiveness of our sins, and our hearts may be purified; for we believe in Jesus Christ, the Son of God, who created heaven and earth, and all things; who shall come down among the children of men” I love this scripture. What an incredible, humble people. As we view ourselves in this carnal state and plead with the Father to have mercy upon us he will grant us with the enabling power of the Atonement because the atonement is an infinite, eternal, saving, redeeming, sacrifice that was made by our elder brother, Savior, Redeemer, Jesus Christ for all of mankind. I give you my witness that as a representative of Jesus Christ the enabling power of the Atonement is real and it is redeeming.

We are here on earth to learn and grow. Our Father in Heaven desires for us to succeed and we can but only with Him and our Savior, Jesus Christ on our side. We are not capable to do anything without our Savior, Jesus Christ. I can testify of this scripture. It is pure truth. The Book of Mormon is true. This Restored Gospel is true. The Spirit bears witness of this divine, simple truth. I invite you all on behalf of your Savior Jesus Christ to pray to your Heavenly Father and seek for the enabling power of the Atonement so that we all may do the things which He has asked of us.

I realized this week is that I am not capable to do this work but the Lord is. I know He lives and I know this great and marvelous work never the stops. The Lord never stops.

Leave a Reply

