Week 26 | Manhattan Transfer – heart aches, new places, and people!

Hello! I hope you all have had a wonderful week and have a great one planned! This week was crazy fun! Yesterday I received news I am being transferred out of Topeka to Manhattan. My heart has never hurt so much.  I never thought it was possible to love a place and the people so much. I love Topeka with all my heart and will always remember the precious souls I have met here. I have truly come to know my Father in Heaven and Savior here and I know I have so much to learn and those relationships will continue to grow. Shoutout to my wonderful companion, Sister Shipley is fabulous. She is such an incredible missionary. She is strong, courageous, compassionate, humble, determined, fun loving, sensitive to the Spirit, and she is a spiritual healer. We are almost done with the 12 week program what a journey it has been. I love Sister Shipley so much it hurts and have learned so many incredible principles & cheesy jokes from her. We have truly had the best time together and we have lots of tears to cry tonight but we will continue to work hard together until the change arrives.

So MANHATTAN! My new companion is Sister Manu and she is STRAIGHT from TONGA! P A R T Y! Her first language is Tongan and I can’t wait to meet her. She has been out 10 months. It will be fun! My heart hurts but change is good!

One night we were ready to teach a new member lesson to our recent convert Travis Glenn with the member that came with us and Travis wasn’t there. Sister Shipley and I looked at each other and knew we needed to knock on some doors. The member is a recently returned missionary and he was all for it! 🙂 long story short we were rejected 3 times. It was freezing cold and Sister Shipley and I had to go to another appointment but then a phrase came to my mind. “4th floor, last door” right when I started to think about it Sister Shipley pointed to a house and said, “one more?” We started to walk over and right when she knocked we all looked at each other and smiled. Then we saw a woman peek through her curtain and with a confused look on her face she opened her door and we began introduce our message and in the middle she said, ” here it’s freezing…come on in” Right then and there we all knew this was a miracle wrought upon us from Heavenly Father right before our eyes. As we sat on her living room couch, we started to testify of the Restoration. As we introduced the Book of Mormon her eyes sparked an interest. We invited the member to share his witness of the Book of Mormon. He shared it with such power and conviction. This woman’s name is Lacey Owens and she is now working towards baptism for December 3rd. In the lesson we could envision Lacey and three kids in white on there baptism day. What an incredible life changing moment. Being a representative of Jesus Christ is a powerful experience. I am so grateful for everything the Savior and my Father in Heaven have blessed me with.

The Book of Mormon: Another Testament of Jesus Christ

In 2 Nephi 28: 29-30 it says, ” Wo be unto him that shall say: We have received the word of God, and we need no more of the word of God, for we have enough!

For behold, thus saith the Lord God: I will give unto the children of men line upon line, precept upon precept, here a little and there a little; and blessed are those who hearken unto my precepts, and lend an ear unto my counsel, for they shall learn wisdom; for unto him that receiveth I will give more; and from them that shall say, We have enough, from them shall be taken away even that which they have.”

In article of faith #8 it states, ” We believe the Bible to be the word of God as far as it is translated correctly; we also believe the Book of Mormon to be the word of God.”

I can testify of both the scripture and the article of faith. The Book of Mormon is the most correct book on the earth and each and every one of you can find out for yourselves if that is true! The Lord will reveal knowledge to us as we read this book with real intent and an sincere heart. Heavenly Father desires to bless us and intends for us to make it back to Him. If we abide by the Book of Mormon’s precepts we will know of the things that Heavenly Father would have us do. As a representative of Jesus Christ I invite all to gain a divine witness of the Book of Mormon. If you have gained a witness gain another one! Strengthen your testimony and relationship with your Father in Heaven. I love the Book of Mormon and know it to be true. I know our Redeemer, Jesus Christ lives and has loosed the bands of death so all may live again. I know the adversary is real but Christ is our leader. Follow Him, Come unto Him, Fight with Him so he may bless you forever more.

img_2122

 

Leave a Reply

