Week 25 | A Loving Father in Heaven

Hello!

I hope and pray your week was full of miracles & faithful moments.

This week was good. Could have been better but good. We can always be improving right? 🙂

Sister Shipley has a funny story for you all: One story for the week, I think it was Wednesday night and our plans fell through, no one was answering. So we went and knocked on a couple of doors… no answer. Then we got an impression to go over to a less active’s home. We pulled up to the house and we saw this lady walking her dog, Sister Shipley said, “Lets go talk to her”. So we bolted out of the car, it was dark and so many leaves on the ground that it hid the curb. So when I was walking around the car, I tripped on the curb and I went down. Sister Shipley already started a conversation with the lady, so I was scrambling to find the Book Of Mormon that flew out of my hands. When I found it, I waddled over there giggling and said, “Sorry I fell back there, have you ever heard of the Book of Mormon before?” I just started testifying in between the giggles, she probably thought we’re nut jobs but she took a copy and said she’ll read it and then calls us, sooooo, we will see.

Sister Shipley is simply amazing and I love her so much. Something that we were talking about in companionship inventory yesterday afternoon was we have both truly felt the unity within our companionship and have realized how crucial that is when it comes to doing everything together. As we pray for each other in lessons, serve and love them, and pray to see and love them as God does we will be able to teach and love two by two and accomplish all things that are expedient in the Lord with the Lord.

We struggled finding new investigators this week and working through the members. Last week we struggled with this as well but there is a difference in the weeks and the reason behind the struggle. Last week, we did not talk to 10 new people everyday and didn’t strive too. This week we were looking and seeking people and when we would find them we would get out of the car and talk to them but we wouldn’t be challenging and testifying when they would reject us. I felt some first contacts this week were amazing and others were not. Sister Shipley and I were out of comfort zones this week in the aspect of talking to everyone even out of our car window which was so weird but we had some cool experiences.

There was this one guy that we talked to out of our car window and he didn’t want anything to do with us but we were persistent and testified boldly of the Book of Mormon. Sure, his heart was definitely softened! He took the card but not the Book so that’s the next step!

This week Sister Shipley and I are fully committed to follow our improvement plans and to work diligently with the Lord in His vineyard! I love reading the Book of Mormon and know it to be true. I know we can gain spiritual strength by reading it with real intent and by abiding by its precepts. I love our Heavenly Father and our Savior, Jesus Christ.

This week I was really focusing on sincere prayer and communicating with my Father in Heaven. Our Heavenly Father wants the best for us. He loves us with infinite love and has never forsaken us and never will. He is always there and is listening intently to every prayer we cry out. We are HIS children. He gave us one of the most precious gift a Father can give a child and that is a Savior so we may live with Him forever someday. I invite you all to seek the love that our Father in Heaven has for you. Pray to know how He feels about you.

” The God of Heaven is not a heartless referee looking for any excuse to throw us out of the game. He is our perfectly loving Heavenly  Father who yearns more than anything else to have us all His children come back home. He intends for us to make it. That is His work & His glory.”

2 Nephi 22:2, “Behold, God is my salvation; I will trust, and not be afraid; for the Lord Jehovah is my strength and my song; he also has become my salvation.”

I love you all!

P.S. Got my flu shot today (ouch!)

~ Sister Thompson 🌻☀🌿

serving in the beloved heartland 💛🌎

 

Leave a Reply

