Week 19 | Doctrine & Covenants 84:88

Hello to all of my wonderful friends and family. How was your week?
Boy do I have so many funny stories for you.
Funny story #1: I was riding my bike and talking to the elders (cause I was lost) on the phone and started biking across the cross walk and it was green! and this car turned right in front of me and I was so close to getting hit. Haha whoops….please don’t be mad dad! #wearetrulyprotected
Funny story #2:  I was biking in a parking lot and my tire got caught on something and I totally ran into a car….(a parked car) there was no damage! Thank goodness. Funny story #3: It was super windy one day and my skirt was very nice to me that day. We were talking to some people and there goes my skirt up and down with the wind. My companion and the member were dying laughing as I was trying to testify while pushing my skirt down. I’ve just learned to laugh at myself all day everyday.

This week was good. We talked to lots of people but unfortunately not a lot were interested which was hard but it was an amazing experience because we were able to testify of Jesus Christ! We were also able to see lots of members. The members here are incredible and there desire to do missionary work is inspiring!

This week we had a specialized training at our stake center and President McCuistiom and the assistants! It was incredible and we really focused on faith. Which is exactly what I’ve been pondering the last few days. Faith is a principle of power! In the general women’s
conference President Uchtdorf talked on faith and he explained what faith can do and what it cannot. I would encourage all of you to study that talk! It’s called “The fourth floor, last door.”

At the specialized training Sister Shipley and I got called on to role play three first contacts in front of President and his counselor, the assistants, and 25 missionaries. Talk about pressure and they didn’t tell us before! I was so nervous and scared but I was blown out of the water when Sister Shipley opened her mouth. We were able to testify of each other and the Spirit was so strong in that role play. I have such a profound testimony of roleplaying. As we do this (as you said) the Spirit of fear departs and the Spirit of confidence comes in.
We also gain personal sacred revelation for God’s precious children, our companions, and a sure witness that what the Spirit is whispering to us is true. As we role play every single day Heavenly Father willbless with His Spirit as we are out testifying to His children and
bring the principles that we learned in our role plays back to ourremembrance. I know this to be true. It’s been a true blessing to roleplay everyday with my wonderful companion Sister Shipley.

This week was hard for me. I’ve been mentally, spiritually, and physically exhausted but that is part of doing the greatest work in the world. I kept referring back to D&C 84:88 which says, “And whoso receiveth you, there I will be also, for I will go before your face. I
will be on your right hand and on your left, and my Spirit shall be in your hearts, and mine angels round about you, to bear you up.”

I want you all to know that I love my mission and my Savior Jesus Christ. I know He lives and stands supreme. His atoning sacrifice is real and can make what ever seems unfair in this life right. Our Heavenly Father loves each and everyone of us and has never ever abandon us and never will. I know the Gospel of Jesus Christ to be true and I am so
privileged to be here in the heartland representing my Savior everyday.
Leave a Reply

