Week 12 | “Jesus, Once of Humble Birth”

Hi everyone! I hope your week was awesome. This week was awesome! Our sweet Connie Glenn got baptized on Saturday and was confirmed a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints yesterday. Her countenance was so bright. When we asked her how she felt, she looked up and whispered, “fantastic.” It was incredible to see one of  our Father in Heaven’s beloved daughters enter the waters of baptism. I love my mission with all my heart and truly have never been happier. There is nothing greater than this work.

Funny story of the week: After Connie’s baptism was over she went up to Elder Hawkes (the elder who baptized her) and gave him a big hug. His face was priceless! Haha it was so cute. She came over to me and said, ” I surprised him with a hug and giggled.” haha!

We saw lots of miracles this week and met lots of amazing people! Everyone in Kansas is so nice and loves to talk! We struggled with finding new investigators through members but our ward is so amazing. One of my favorite things to do is set up family mission plans! It’s
incredible to see different goals that families have to do missionary work. We had dinner with an amazing family last night and they remind me of my own so I felt right at home! Their goal was to be “missionary minded”! This is my favorite goal! So here’s an example of being “missionary minded” and then not.

Example #1: *You walk into work on Monday* Your coworker says,” How was your weekend?” You say,” It was awesome! I went to church yesterday and had the opportunity to take the sacrament and hear people’s testimonies, have you ever been to an LDS church before?”

Example #2: *You walk into work on Monday* Your coworker says,” How was your  weekend?” You say,  It was good. I just went golfing with my kids.” If we are missionary minded, Heavenly Father will bless us with natural conversations that can have church
naturally come up! Grow your desire to be “missionary minded”! Pray for missionary opportunities. Be disciples of Jesus Christ. Serve those around you. Set an example for your family and friends. They will notice!

Yesterday was fast Sunday and as I was sitting in sacrament meeting listening to all the wonderful testimonies and the hymn “Jesus, Once of Humble Birth” came to my mind. In the MTC choir, we had the opportunity to sing this song for Elder Rasband when he came to speak to us. I love this song. My favorite verse is, “Once he groaned in blood and tears; Now in glory he appears. Once rejected by his own, Now their King he shall be known. Now their King he shall be known.” He suffered all of our pains, afflictions, misdeeds, heart  aches, everything! He descended below all. Jesus is the Christ. He lives. He is the King,
the Prince of Peace, the Lord of Lords, the Redeemer, the Savior of the world. I can testify that He is RISEN.

Jesus Christ our elder brother prepared the Atonement for all mankind. (Mosiah 4 in the Book of Mormon) That is us! The Atonement of Jesus Christ makes salvation possible. Because of Him we can live again. Because of Him families can be together forever. Because of Him death has no sting. Because of Him we can go to church weekly to partake of the sacrament. Because of Him our lives have meaning. Because of Him I have the honor and privilege to be serving in the Heartland meeting incredible children of God and see the Book of Mormon change their lives everyday. What do you have Because of Him?

 

~ Sister Thompson 🌻☀️🌿
serving in the beloved heartland 💛

Leave a Reply

