Week 10 | “…that ye might know the gate by which ye should enter…”

 
IMG_0679

WHATS UP to my wonderful friends and family! (sorry that my email is SUPER long!)

How are y’all? (you know I’m not just saying “y’all” cause I’m in Kansas… I say it all the time now ha) Anyways!

Comedic Relief

 

These weeks are seriously flying by. It is insane and crazy! Funny Story for the week: ” We  were walking out of a dinner appointment and my companion and I saw some giant  mushrooms. She told me to go kick it and of course I did cause you know… who wouldn’t? And I kicked it so hard that my shoe and the mushroom went flying and my shoe landed on a car and set off the ALARM! All of the sudden my companion and the elders are dying laughing so hard (because it is so hot and we are all slap happy) and I’m just standing there melting and not knowing what to do. The car alarm shuts off and I get my shoe (I check to make sure that there was no damage) and then there we were off to our other
appointments! So that was fun! Second kind of funny story: So this morning, Sister Joyner and I are walking out of the gym and it’s raining and we get talking to this man who had served a 30 year mission for his church in Brazil and he was telling us that this past week in Topeka the heat and humidity was worse than it was in Brazil. Oh my word everyone this past week was SUPER hot. It was exhausting but so fun. What an experience. I love it so much. I don’t like the headaches I get every couple of days but that just makes the experience more memorable right?! So it’s awesome!

Miracles and Strife
This week was miraculous but there was a lot of hard moments! No worries about those because that’s what makes this experience so incredible! I honestly do not believe in bad days anymore. If you choose to always have a good day then you will! No matter what
happens! I do believe in hard moments but no bad days! 😇 So the week! Let me tell ya about it!

Tuesday: So sister Joyner and I were having companion study and we were in the middle of evaluating a role play and I asked her for feedback and she gave it to me and she looked at me and was like, “Are you okay?” And I just broke down completely! Hahaha like WHAT?!
She felt horrible! It definitely was not the feedback that made me break down but you know those days where you just wake up frustrated with everything and yourself. That was me that day! All day. I felt so bad for my district leader because we had interviews that day and I wasn’t expecting to cry in the interview but I totally did! Oh my goodness poor elder. His face told me that he did not know how to handle it. His future wife will thank me. I am
still apologizing to him. But he then offered to give me a blessing right then and there and I am so grateful for the priesthood power. Blessings from our Heavenly Father are the best! I’m so grateful for my leaders and our Father in Heaven and my elder brother, Jesus
Christ.

Later that day we had an AMAZING lesson with a part member family! The wife is a less active member and the husband is a non-member and they are both incredible and their hearts are so open to the Spirit! That night we met an amazing man names Ed! We stopped him on the street and he is so receptive to the gospel! Later this week we passed him off to the elders since we can’t teach him cause he lives alone. But he is now on date for AUGUST 6! ❤️

Wednesday: We visited our investigator Connie and she is on date! We met her through a less active member who lives right next to her! Connie is so sweet. She loves her older brother and Savior, Jesus Christ. It was so cute. When we had the Plan of Salvation discussion you could see the Spirit teaching her in the way she was taking it all in. She just kept expressing how awesome it was. The Spirit is amazing when you open your heart!

Thursday: We had our favorite service missionary Sister Wilkes come out with us! We saw lots of people and talked to them! Inviting someone to be baptized on the street is so powerful! If they truly open their heart and if it is God’s will it is incredible! The Lord is
truly preparing precious souls all over the world! As members and missionaries we have the opportunity to pray and ask Heavenly Father for these life changing moments!

Friday: We had lots of rejection on Friday. We had a list that the Bishop gave us of people to go visit! A lot of them didn’t answer their door or they told us not to come back. Which is sad but we will continue to pray for them and there families because we love them! We
taught Connie the commandments today and she gave us her coffee and tea! She then had a cup and a pitcher full of tea and we encouraged her to pour it down the sink right then and there and she did! That was an incredible experience! Our brothers and sisters are so elect and amazing!

Saturday: Not a lot happened on Saturday! But regardless it was a great day. It was super hot so not a lot of people were out but that’s okay! We still had some awesome lessons and did some service at night by helping cleaning the church which is always fun!

Sunday: WHAT. A. DAY. Everyone came to church! Marilyn and Connie came to church. They are now both on date for August 6th! They loved church! We had eight less active families come and it was such a miracle to see them! They are all so amazing and we are so happy that they came to church! Later that day we met Jade and she was a referral from some elders. She is deaf. So we were sitting in our car after knocking on her door a couple times and as Sister Joyner was talking on the phone a young girl walked into the middle of the street out of no where and looked at me and immediately the Spirit told me, ” that’s
Jade” I got out the car so quick and waved to her and started typing on my ipad to tell her who we were and that we would love to teach her. She read it and got this huge smile on her face and told me to follow her so she could go ask her mom. We then called a ward
missionary who knows ASL and she was able to come and communicate with Jade! That was an incredible experience. The Spirit was so strong as we took her to the church. We are going back on Tuesday with another woman who is deaf and with our ward missionary!

We are so excited and now I have a super strong desire to learn ASL! So I found a book at the church that has church terms in ASL and will be studying that today 😇 It will be an amazing experience! Well as you can see this week has been amazing! I had the opportunity to give a training in district meeting on Tuesday on ” We Baptize” which
is a pathway to the gate of baptism! (Which explains the blog title) Baptism is the gate by which he should enter! Baptism is the gate that opens up the straight and narrow path to eternal joy! 2 Nephi 31:17 says, “Wherefore, do the things which I have told you I have seen that your Lord and your Redeemer should do; for, for this cause have they been shown unto me, that ye might know the gate by which ye should enter. For the gate by which ye should enter is repentance and baptism by water; and then cometh a remission of your sins by fire and by the Holy Ghost.” That is my favorite scripture and 2 Nephi 31 is one of my favorite chapters in the Book of Mormon!

These past 2 months have been absolutely life changing. The people of Topeka, Kansas are truly changing me. Waking up every morning knowing that as missionaries we have the opportunity to link arms with the Savior and go out into His field is incredible. I love my Father in Heaven. It is truly an honor to be able to address him as Father. I love my Savior and Redeemer Jesus Christ who is the Only Begotten Son of God. I love my mission.

D&C 84:88, “And whoso receiveth you, there I will be also, for I will go before your face. I will be on your right hand and on your left,
and my Spirit shall be in your hearts, and mine angels round about
you, to bear you up.”

~ Sister Thompson 🌻☀️🌿
serving in the beloved heartland 💛🌎

Leave a Reply

