Week | 9: The switch has been flipped

Hello to all my amazing family and friends,
How are you? Did you all have the best weeks of your lives? I sure hope you did because I did!

The switch flipped everyone! Okay so for those who served a mission do you all remember that day when you woke up and you hit your knees and you expressed to Heavenly Father that you truly loved your mission and you meant it? Or when you gave your will to the Father and he took it?

That happened to me this week on July 14, 2016. I know this might sound cheesy but I will never forget that day. The night before that I was expressing to Heavenly Father what was holding me back from serving with all my heart, might, mind, and strength. I pleaded and wrestled with Him to take this from me so nothing would be holding back from serving with all my heart every single day. I woke up the next morning and it truly felt like
something has been lifted off my shoulders. I honestly felt so different. It was incredible. I have never had a stronger desire to talk to so many people and share this beautiful message! AH! You guys, the switch has been flipped! I LOVE my mission. I honestly never wanna stop doing missionary work and being a missionary. Waking up everyday and  knowing that as missionaries we represent Jesus Christ is the best feeling ever. It truly is. There is nothing better than that. I would LOVE to hear other missionaries/return missionaries experiences when the switch flipped for you!
So this week flew by super fast. I honestly can’t completely remember what happened…whoops. Um well I can tell you the top 8 (sorry awkward  number) miracles that happened this week! Alright here we go!

Miracle #1: we talked to 10 or more people everyday & had lessons with them.

Miracle #2: we got told by the Bishop that we have gained the trust of the
ward.

Miracle #3: went on exchanges with my Sister Training Leader, Sister Hawkes and learned when we are thinking about our investigators is when we are the happiest.

Miracle #4: Did I mention that I FLIPPED THE SWITCH?

Miracle #5: went to a Mission President’s devotional for recent converts and less
actives and what a spiritual experience that was! Hearing their testimonies was incredible. They are truly precious children of the Most High God and so are YOU!

Miracle #6: Marilyn came to church for the second time! She will be baptized on July 30th!

Miracle #7: Kaitlyn (our recent convert ) has been struggling, but after a priesthood
blessing, bringing her McDonald’s (to keep her awake during a lesson) and coming to church the next day and feeling of her Father in Heaven’s love, she is doing so good! We love her SO much.

Miracle #8: We had lots of less actives come to church yesterday! Some that hadn’t
come in months! That was an amazing miracle! We love all of them so much as well and couldn’t been happier for them that they are coming back. The Spirit is truly amazing and is the real teacher.

I don’t know if I’ve told you about Marilyn yet. Well I guess I’ll do that now! We met Marilyn a couple of weeks ago on her porch while on our way to another appointment. She was super receptive and she is so elect! She loves church and praying to her Father in Heaven. She is going to fast and pray about her baptism on the 30th and we are so
excited for her and pray that if it is the Lord’s will for her to enter the cleansing waters of baptism that day then the Spirit will stir in her heart and know it is right. We are willing to do everything and anything for her! We love her SO much! Our teaching pool is struggling a little bit right now… A lot of people have dropped us but we know that we are one step closer to the elect! We are going to continue to talk to lots of people and set up return appointments the next day and put them on date!

People here in Kansas are so awesome and most everyone will talk to you! They are  SO nice! I love waving down people from a far and seeing there faces! Sometimes we get a smile and other times we get, “ew no…who are you? Don’t talk to me…” As they are saying that in their head they are slowing walking onto the grass and acting like we can’t see them. Haha! Those are my favorite people.

Well! This week was amazing and can’t wait to have another week in Paradise! I love you all SO much. Have the best weeks of your lives and choose JOY. You all decide how your day is gonna play out. Choosing to be happy and excited is way more fun than having an attitude and being bitter.

Always remember that your Savior is walking with you every step of the way. He has always been there. His arm is outstretched toward you. Grab hold to his arm and never let go. He will pull you up and carry you. You just have to grab hold first. Let him rescue you. He is willing and waiting.
Love,
Sister Thompson

“But if ye will turn to the Lord with full purpose of heart, and
put your trust in him, and serve him with all diligence of mind, if ye
do this, he will, according to his own will and pleasure, deliver you
out of bondage.” Mosiah 7:33

Leave a Reply

