Week 8 | I’m Melting

FullSizeRender_2

I have never ever been so grateful for a car in my life. Let me tell ya.. It is super HOT here in Top City (Topeka) but I love it so much! I am so grateful for the beautiful sunshine everyday! Kansas is gorgeous and the people are so elect. Yesterday we were driving to our investigators house singing at the top of our lungs and I just looked down and realized I was a missionary. I honestly freaked out for a second and was like woah…is this real? The mission goes by so fast and I have way too much fun here. It’s crazy to think that I have waited 5 1/2 years to serve a mission and I’m actually doing it! Crazy right? I love my mission so much with all my heart. I have never felt so much joy in my life. I know I say that a lot but I mean it with all my heart.President McCuistion, our new Mission President, and his wife are the best people in the world. Three words to describe them both would be loving, joyful, diligent to the Lord and His vineyard. I can’t wait to have my interview with him. 

FullSizeRender 

So this week was so fun but also hard because we are still double covering areas and Wards till this coming Wednesday. We saw tons of miracles though! We had three church tours this week which was amazing. I love church tours. The Spirit is so strong especially when we go to the baptismal font and invite them to imagine themselves in the font.  A lot of people wonder why missionaries invite people to be baptized after the first lesson or even when we first meet them. We do it because we need to establish our purpose from the beginning. We are called as missionaries to invite and help our precious brothers and sisters to receive the restored gospel. There are three main invitations in the Book of Mormon:

  • 1. To read it
  • 2. To pray and ask God the eternal father in the name of Jesus Christ if these things are not true
  • 3. To be baptized in the name of Jesus Christ by someone holding the priesthood authority of God.

We have a specific purpose as missionaries to represent Jesus Christ as if he was giving the invitation to them directly. Jesus Christ is inviting these children through us. We should not delay this invitation. He would not delay this invitation. Baptism is the gateway to the straight and narrow path to eternal joy. Baptism is the first step that we take to follow our Savior Jesus Christ. We are on the Lord’s errand. We need to have an attitude of  desperation and love for the Lord’s vision.

I invite all of you to pray to your loving Father in Heaven tonight to ask him for a missionary opportunity. If your heart is open and if you are willing to share the gospel the Spirit will be with you and fill your mouth with the message that the Savior would share with them.

If you are not a member or have a question I invite you to pray to your loving Father in Heaven tonight and ask that specific question to Him. As you await your answer please know we are all on the Lord’s timing. Open up your heart and continue to have a burning desire to receive your answer. If you know someone who is a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints ask them. Heavenly Father might answer your question through someone else. I would love to hear all of your experiences.

Click here to learn more about Joseph Smith

I love you all. Most importantly our Savior Jesus Christ and Father in Heaven are aware of you and love you more than you can physically and mentally comprehend. I know this gospel to be true.

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints is the only true church on the earth today. Other churches have beautiful pieces of truth. It’s like a glass mirror. Back when Christ was on the earth that beautiful mirror was in one piece and was perfect. After Christ was crucified and His apostles died that mirror broke and different, beautiful, simple pieces of truth were scattered all over the earth. This is why we have so many different churches.

In the year of 1820, a young boy by the name of Joseph Smith had a simple question: which one of these churches was true? He took his question to God. As he opened up his heart to God he said,” “I saw a pillar of light exactly over my head, above the brightness of the sun, which descended gradually until it fell upon me.…When the light rested upon me I saw two Personages, whose brightness and glory defy all description, standing above me in the air. One of them spake unto me, calling me by name and said, pointing to the other–This is My Beloved Son. Hear Him!” Jesus Christ and Heavenly Father then told him that none of those churches were true. Nine years later Joseph Smith received the power of God, which is known as the priesthood authority. Through that authority we have The Book of Mormon which is another testament of Jesus Christ, a modern day prophet by the name of Thomas S. Monson who leads and guides us under the direction of Jesus Christ because He is at the head of this church, and we also have that beautiful mirror and it has been restored to one perfect piece.

Love,
Sister Thompson

P.S. The scriptures never change but we can.

Leave a Reply

